Why I’m Boycotting the Recession

Hey did you hear that we are in a recession? I really had no idea until I saw it on TV, every single day for the past 6 months or so. Seriously though, I realized we were in for tough times (as many of you did) a long time ago. Quite truthfully, many of us have been in a perpetual recession in some way, shape or form for years. They say that when America sneezes, the world catches the flu. If that is indeed true, then it is also true that when corporate America sneezes, everyone else in the country catches the flu as well. Rather than waiting on everyone else to get sick to decide that I’ll have the flu, I’ve decided to fortify my immune system in advance by boycotting this recession. This economic recession has turned into a psychological recession. More and more every day, I hear people speaking from a poverty state of mind. Go through your day and ask yourself how many times you hear things that speak to a defeatist mentality. All day you’ll hear someone talk about how they can’t find a job so they stop looking. They speak about how they want to start a business but there’s no money so they don’t write that business plan. They want to take a trip but they’re just broke so they don’t look at driving down the street because they can’t fly to Disney World. Though all of these problems are real for many families even when there is not a recession, the recession has become an excuse for many people to not do anything at all. From the President to the media and on down, we just hear about the gloom and doom that is ahead if a bill doesn’t get passed or if some other miraculous act does not occur and frankly, I’m tired of it. The recession has become the new reality show. Tune in 24-7 to catch the latest episode. I’ve never been a fan of reality shows. We need to focus on our own realities and stop participating in this recession mentality. The mental recession will be harder to emerge from than the economic recession. I know the President is doing the best he can to solve the problem so I don’t need to watch the news every hour to join the collective recession woes. Before the recession was declared, my family was already looking for ways to cut costs in utilities, automobile travel, groceries, etc. because we want to have a more green lifestyle that our kids will hopefully emulate and of course, we want to save money. If you waited until now to start doing that, you’ll most likely go back to your old habits when this recession ends. If you are really concerned about this recession, you will start developing yourself mentally, physically and spiritually now in order to emerge from the recession before it ends. Use this economy to take stock of what’s important in your life and develop that to your fullest abilities. You will emerge a more prepared person when this is over and you will have an advantage over the majority of Americans who have given into the fear.

One Response to “Why I’m Boycotting the Recession”

  1. Marilyn Says:

    Yes, it really starts with each of us individually. I surround myself with positive people, that’s a start. I don’t listen to news 24/7. I focus on building my skills as a coach. That takes a good chunk of my time and energy.

    Those who practice self development now will emerge stronger later.

Leave a Reply

