Haiti, We Will Rebuild (a poem)

Why are so many masses of my countrymen no longer alive?
Why did I survive?
Why didn’t I perish beneath the rubble?
Why has the pride in my island not crumbled?
Bearing wondrous witness to death & devastation
Birthing bountiful inspiration
For as long as I’m breathing I must keep on believing
Appealing to a higher power to see me through this
For there will never be an answer as to why we went through this
I may not have money but I have arms to hug hope
A rope of resiliency reaching down to my brother
A ladder of love reaching up to my mother
Pour Ayiti je vais reconstruir mon pays
The hope for my country depends on me
With some special assistance from my neighboring countries
I will emerge even stronger, my people more proud
Stormy clouds shall pass et le soleil will shine encore une fois
An earthquake shook my country but not my pride tu vois
An aftershock rocked my home but not my spirit
They say when you’re knocked down to land on your back
For if you can look up you can get up so I’m standing tall
Some buildings may have collapsed but my faith will never fall
My land will rise once again because I chose to get up
To never let up on my people, I was chosen to live up
So watch me rise like the phoenix from the ashes of despair
Watch my people rebuild like never before
With you and me working side by side
This quake will be a mere tremor with the passage of time
So I say sak passé to a new day dawning
From mourning the dead I’ll give birth to a new morning
A quake clipped my wings but soon again I’ll be soaring!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

