A tribute to MJ

Never cried for one who died I never met
But when I saw your funeral my whole floor got wet
Didn’t know all you did until after you died
But truthfully that ain’t the real reason I cried
Cause back in the thriller days you were like no other
Everybody felt you from sisters to my mother
But all of a sudden you started changin’ color
Seemed on the surface man you were scared to be a brother
I took your lighter tone as a rejection of me
Thought you turned on black people once the fame came see
Then came Lisa Marie and 3 white babies
I was in my black power phase so you drove me crazy
Then the hair then the nose and I was like man
Can you do anything else to reject your fam?
But I had you all wrong, didn’t have to hate ya
Judgin’ off sight alone guess it’s human nature

When the press called you jacko, child poverty you tackled
When they called you a monster, the stage you would conquer
While we were doing you wrong you were singing earth songs
Negro College Fund survived from your contributions
Your face change probably had more to do with your pops
Cause you told Oprah you a proud black man hak
We are the World helped African kids
Heal the World helped children from Maine to Madrid
Ain’t no celebrity done as much as you did
And who am I to judge how you raised your kids
Your daughter said you were the best dad ever
Will my kids say the same when I’m gone forever?
While we celebrated you on MTV
You made sure you got your video to BET
You the last person I judge, your message I hear ya
From now on I’ll focus on the man in the mirror

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “A tribute to MJ”

  1. Michael JoToya Jackson Says:

    So glad you alouded yourself over time to see the REAL MICHAEL JOSEPH JACKSON.He is one of the most wonderful human being on earth.He give all of himself that he could so unselfishly.And he still will give to all of us FOREVER!!!

Leave a Reply

