I wonder (a child’s poem on education in America)

I wonder what my world would be

If you could just see me as I see me

If you could just greet me with a smile even though you think I’m hostile

If you could not assume that I’m doomed for life’s prisons and trials

You may see a smile that would light up your room

You may see I’m as precious as any child in your room

If you could see why we may not see eye to eye

And meet me half-way so I’m not that child left behind

Maybe just maybe we will make some progress

If you just looked at me as a scholar and nothing less

I hunger for education but my teachers have me fasting

I’m just looking for your love and a little understanding

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

