No Child Left Behind (a poem)

I’m the child left behind so I rhyme

Didn’t pass the test so I dropped outta line

Outta sight into crime just tryin’ to get paid

They cared more for my braids than they did for my grades

Didn’t quite look the part plus they didn’t have art

No foreign languages no music, not even head start

So when the shotgun went off I didn’t run I stayed

School was just daycare so I ran and played

Acted a fool in school and I thought I was cool

Made a point to act stupid and not follow the rules

Till I got held back and the joke was on me

Some other brothers hauled off to Special Ed see

Supposed to be case by case but too many black males

Make up Special Ed, it’s like a school jail cell

They say the first shall be last and that’s true in class

Original man at the bottom of education class

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “No Child Left Behind (a poem)”

  1. Felix Says:

    This poem is beautiful. It is also touching,especially to the kid who didn’t get the chance to attend the perfect school for a childhood education.

Leave a Reply

